Conecuh Corn Pups

Its coming up on festival and fair season across the country, so I’ve decided to post my delicious Conecuh Corn Pups recipe (mini corn dogs = corn pups).  If you’re not familiar with conecuh, its a smoked sausage from the south (Alabama) and I would compare it to something like keilbasa, but better and with a little more spice to it.  My fiance’s family introduced this to me at one of their backyard cookouts, and i’ve been hooked ever since.  We pretty much always have it any time we grill out.  That being said, I do what I always do and came up with a different way to prepare it.  My fiance HATES Hotdogs and won’t even come close to them, but loves this sausage… So I decided since it was summertime and people are eating all these fried foods, that I would try my hand at a corn dog, but with these bite sized pieces of delicious Conecuh sausage instead.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 quart of oil for frying (and a deep enough pot to fry in)
  • 1 package of Conecuh Sausage

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl combine the cornmeal, flour, salt, pepper, sugar and baking powder. Then stir in the eggs and milk (keep cold)
  2. preheat the oil in the deep pot to around 350-375° F
  3. cut the sausage into bite sized chunks.  I toss them with a little flour to help the batter stick to them
  4. drop the chunks into the batter a few at a time, then into the hot oil carefully
  5. rotate them as they cook so they’ll be golden brown evenly all over
  6. remove with a wire spatula and drain on paper towel or a baking rack

One thing I did with mine which is completely optional was to make a Bourbon Honey Mustard dipping sauce.  Of course you could do the standard sauces if you’d like, but I wanted to do something a little different (of course)

The sauce I made was in a small bowl, and this is all estimated on look and taste and not exact measurements. It’s simple, and can be adjusted with different seasonings to fit your taste.

Bourbon Honey Mustard dipping sauce:

  • 4 Tablespoons of Mustard
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons of Honey
  • 1 Tablespoon Bourbon
  • salt/pepper to taste

IMG_0634

Give this recipe a try the next time you’re feeling like frying something up, its pretty delicious and perfect for any get together or for anyone who likes food that’s bite-sized.  It’s sure to be a hit!

Leave a Reply

