Cast Iron Wild Salmon

This may throw some people off, since usually my test kitchen posts aren’t the most “healthy”, however after some health issues that i’ve been struggling with for some months now I decided to completely change up my diet in order to “heal” myself the most natural way possible (instead of spending tons of $$$ and wasted time on medicines and prescriptions that just make things worse in the long run).  I’ve had the hardest time over the past few months doing anything I used to do… Socializing, eating out, even just driving down the road somewhere (seriously couldnt go anywhere without my stomach always hurting, or having to make “pit-stops”… the worst).  So after months of intestinal distress and pain, my wife and I have decided to go “full hippie” (kiddingsort of…) with all the groceries in the house.  Everything is now Organic/Natural whole foods, no gluten, no sugars (other than natural sugars in fruit and local honey), and no fun…. (haha!).  After lots of research we stocked up our cupboards and fridge with good foods, healthy fats, fiber galore, and LOTS of veggies.  I haven’t had too hard of a transition, but the wife has had a little harder of a time getting into the swing of the new lifestyle.  I’m definitely no dietician or even a holistic chef, which i’ve seen some pretty amazing recipes, and delicious looking food from.  I’m definitely better with creating things with all the random things I can get my hands on… so this is MUCH different since I’ve had to cut out a LOT of things/ingredients I would normally use to create a dish… so its also been a learning experience (and still is) for myself.  All this to say, I found something tonight (after a few weeks of straight up vegan food) that my wife doesn’t mind eating (with her help getting the groceries this time of course).  Tonight we made up some CAST IRON SALMON w/ a side of oven baked sweet potato fries, and sauteed garlicky kale. If you don’t have a cast iron pan, then you seriously need to make that investment… its life-changing.  BUT Like usual, its all made up on the fly, so its not an exact recipe, but rather guidelines for those who’d like to try this out themselves at home, feel free to adjust.

WHAT GROCERIES YOU’LL NEED

  • 2 fresh wild salmon filets
  • 1 large sweet potato (peeled)
  • 1 bushel of kale
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • organic unrefined coconut oil (the best stuff!)
  • 2 tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Pink Hamalayan Sea Salt
  • Black ground pepper
  • Tumeric
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Dill weed (fresh or a good dried version)

AND THE COOKING STEPS

  • preheat the oven to 375° and grab a baking pan/sheet for the fries
  • cut the sweet potato up into the “fries” shape and in a bowl toss them with a little coconut oil (soften if needed), sprinkle of tumeric, sea salt, pepper and smoked paprika (to your discretion) then spread out on the baking sheet, and once the oven is heated, place into the oven for about 20 minutes, then turn them, and cook for another 10-15 mins (or until crispy)
  • In a saucepan, put in a tablespoon or two of coconut oil, heat it up, chop up the bushel of kale (no stems) and sautee with the apple cider vinegar and garlic cloves, and seasonings until tender
  • For the fish, preheat up the cast iron pan with some coconut oil until its good and hot (but not smokey) pat the fish dry, add salt, pepper, and smoked paprika, then lay it in the hot pan to sear.
  • cook for 2-3 mins, and flip and cook for another 2-3 mins.  There should be a nice crust on each side, and cooked all the way through, but not overcooked. (these filets I had were only 3/4 to an inch thick, if you have thicker ones you’ll need to adjust cooking time accordingly, and possibly cook in oven after searing)
  • in a separate small bowl mix coconut oil, dill weed, salt, pepper to make like a paste (basically its seasoned butter… without the butter) and then put a pat of that on the fish to melt over it
  • Once everything is cooked, then you can plate it up and eat!

(feeds two people)

Like I said, i’ve been on a pretty strict diet, so I didnt have any sauce to dip my fries or anything in since I’ve had to cut out so many things, however feel free to add a dipping sauce to those glorious fries if you are able to.  All in all its tasty and HEALTHY for you.  So if you want to change it up one night to something good for you, or maybe you need it like I did, to heal… then this might just be a dish that’ll help you transition into a healthier lifestyle.  I’ve already been feeling better in the short time since we’ve changed it all up, so its something we’re gonna stick with.  Hopefully this will also help anyone else trying to make a move to be healthier, or even a complete diet change.  I hope you enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nathan Ewing says:

    Sounds great. Iron skillets are super great in the kitchen and easy to season with some internet reading. They will last forever as well, and only get better over time.

    I’d add to this that I’ve recently started using Braggs unfiltered, unpasteurized apple cider vinegar with the “mother” as a general supplement. It’s flavor is great, and likely has improved health benefits over filtered, pasteurized vinegar like Heinz. The mother is the bacteria from the whole vinegar making process and has been used for many “cures” for many many years.

    Like

    1. Absolutely! That’s the only kind I buy 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

