Steak for Two

I’ve been loving me some steaks recently.  Even my wife who said she never really cared for steaks before, has been devouring these up lately when I make them.

I know everyone has their own way of how they like them, and trust me, when I have to cook my wife’s “well done” I cringe a little on the inside (but she’s pregnant, so she gets a pass). However, my favorite way to eat a steak is around MEDIUM sometimes MEDIUM-RARE, so its got a nice line of pink in the center, but nicely seared on the outside. I’ve also found recently that I’ve had the best turnout by doing a “reverse sear” on them, which means getting them to the temperature/done-ness you want, and then searing them off at the end.

here’s a few things you’ll need:

  • cast iron pan (seasoned, and oiled)
  • two 1 inch thick steaks of your choice
    • I’m not made of money, so I don’t always get the top notch cuts unless its a special occasion, but I’ll check the butcher section to see what’s on sale that day, or what looks like a good deal and usually go with that
  • 1/2 stick of unsalted butter
  • couple sprigs of fresh Rosemary & Thyme (or a pinch of dried rosemary & thyme)
  • 2 cloves garlic (smashed)
  • salt & pepper for seasoning meat
  • small sheet baking tray, with metal rack in it (see below)
    • I line mine with foil to make cleanup easy when there’s “drippings”

wire tray

and here’s how I’ll typically cook mine up at home:

  1. preheat oven to 400°F
  2. season each steak liberally with salt and pepper on each side
  3. place the steaks on the sheet tray and cook in oven for around 35-40 mins (which is perfect in my oven, may have to adjust your times depending on how your particular oven is)
  4. While the steaks are cooking in the oven, heat the cast iron pan on medium
  5. when the steaks are done, take them out of the oven, and sear them in the cast iron pan to get a nice crust, usually around 2 mins on each side
  6. once you flip to the second side, cook for around 1 minute, then add in the butter, rosemary/thyme, and garlic, tilt the pan up in the back so there’s a pool of the butter in the bottom, and ladle/baste (with a spoon) the butter/herb deliciousness over the meat for the final 30 seconds or so as it finishes searingbasted steak.jpg
  7. once this is done, its ready to take out of the pan, letting it rest on  a cutting board or plate for a few minutes, and then its ready to slice, or serve up.

The past few times I’ve served mine up with some sautéed brussel sprouts on the side, sometimes adding some goat cheese crumbles (SO GOOD!) or even some baked sweet potato chunks, and caramelized onions

IMG_5282

I highly recommend trying the reverse-sear method the next time you go to do a steak at home, it tastes as good as any of those top steakhouses, without shoveling out your whole paycheck for it, and to me makes it taste even better!

Side Note / 2nd recipe:

I’ve also done another method where you cook it this way, but instead of basting it with butter, you add it to a miso-marinade once it comes out of the pan, letting it soak for 10-ish minutes, and then slice it up for tacos, salads or sandwiches, and its AMAZING!!!

For The Marinade:

  • 2 Tbsp miso paste
  • 2 Tbsp mirin or rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste (the miso is kind of salty already, as well as the pre-seasoned steaks when you cook them, so adjust this accordingly)

This is pretty incredible tasting if I do say so myself, so give it a try!

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    It looks so juicy and tasty, steak is my favorite dish with any green veggies or any other side dish 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

